Call Now

Sambalpur University

Updated on: Apr 18, 2013

The Sambalpur University Act was passed by the Orissa Legislature on 10th December, 1966 with an objective to fulfill long cherished dream of the people of Western Orissa for establishment of a University.  The University started functioning from 1st January, 1967 with Prof.Parsuram Mishra as the first Vice-Chancellor.

The territorial jurisdiction of the University covers 10 districts of the state of Orissa namely Sambalpur, Sundargarh, Jharsuguda, Deogarh, Bargarh, Bolangir, Subarnapur, Nawapara, Kalahandi, Boudh and Athamallik Sub-Division of Angul District.

The University at Jyoti Vihar provides Post-Graduate education in Twenty-seven subjects through Twenty Post-Graduate Departments.

The University Post-Graduate Departments offer one-year study Programme for M.Phil Degree, two years study programme for the Degrees of M.A./M.Sc./LL.M./ Business Administration/ M.Lib & Inf.Science, One-Year P.G. Diploma Course in Computer Science & Application and Diploma Course in Sambalpuri Studies and Three-Year course in M.C.A. and Executive M.B.A.

The P.G. Departments of Chemistry, Life Sciences, History, Economics, Library & Information Sciences and Mathematics have been conferred Autonomous Status by the University.

SU Orissa Facilities

  • Post-Graduate Hostels
  • Common Room with TV
  • Reading Room with Newspaper and Magazine
  • Guest Room
  • First Aid
  • STD Telephone booth
  • Central Canteen
  • Hostel Campus
  • Nationalized Banks
  • One Post-Office
  • One Health Centre
  • One Auditorium
  • One Police-Out Post
  • One Faculty House
  • One Community Centre
  • Central Library
For further information related to the Sambalpur University, click on the links provided below:
Subscribe to our newsletter